Bronze Medal Awards

Click here for info on Upcoming Classes

The Bronze Medal Awards program consists of three levels:

  • Bronze Star
  • Bronze Medallion
  • Bronze Cross

These awards focus on providing an understanding of the lifesaving principles central to the four components of water rescue education: judgement, knowledge, skill and fitness. They provide swimmers with the knowledge and ability to become lifesavers. They are the first steps on the way to becoming trained lifeguards. For more information visit or contact our office at 705-325-3965.

Bronze Star

Ability is the only prerequisite for the Bronze Star course. Bronze Star provides training for your body and your brain. You’ll become a stronger swimmer. You’ll learn CPR and practice problem-solving and decision-making. You’ll practice self-rescue techniques and rescue with a partner.

Bronze Medallion

The Lifesaving Society’s Bronze Medallion Award teaches an understanding of the lifesaving principles embodied in the four components of water rescue education – judgment, knowledge, skill, and fitness. Rescuers learn tows and carries, and defence and release methods in preparation for rescues of conscious and unconscious victims. Lifesavers develop stroke efficiency and endurance in a timed swim.
Bronze Star,
or 13 years of age.

Bronze Cross

Bronze Cross is designed for lifesavers who want the challenge of more advanced training including an introduction to safe supervision in aquatic facilities. Bronze Cross is a prerequisite for all advanced training programs including National Lifeguard and Instructor certification.
Bronze Medallion and Emergency First Aid